​ Preserve our Past Art and Essay Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Students from Marion, Phillips, Pulaski, Benton, Sharp and Van Buren counties were the top winners in the 29th annual “Preserve Our Past” Art & Essay Invitational, sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. The winning submissions will be on display at Historic Arkansas Museum, 200 E. Third St., in Little Rock, on Friday, Sept. 11, during its virtual Second Friday Art Night event and will remain on display for visitors to the museum through Oct. 8.

Brooke Bitely of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock won first place in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division for a drawing of the Old Mill in North Little Rock. There were no essay submissions for fifth- and sixth-graders in the essay division.

Brent Wall of South Side Bee Branch won first place in the seventh- and eighth-grade art division for a drawing of the rustic arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus, and Matthias L. Gwinn of Siloam Springs won first place in the essay division for “A Willow Tree: The Elaine Massacre and Preserving Its Story.” Yahya Younus of Lisa Academy in Little Rock won second place in the essay division for “The Diamond State’s Heart: the VA Hospital.”

Other winners in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division were Ria Patel of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock, second place for a drawing of the State Capitol in Little Rock, and Mason Reid Simmons of Cave City MiddleSchool, third place for a drawing of the Old State House in Little Rock. Honorable mention went to Emma Grace Kimball of Pulaski Academy for a drawing of Cabin 16 at Petit Jean State Park.

Other winners in the seventh- and eighth grade art division were Taylor Henley of Flippin Middle School, second place for a drawing of the Flippin Jail, and Kaylea Roberson of South Side Bee Branch, third place for a drawing of the Collums-Baker House. Honorable mention went to Natalie Leslie, South Side Bee Branch, for a drawing of the arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Rosston Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South U.S. Forest Service 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation downtown revitalization Downtown Revitalization Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Prairie County Arkansas American Legion Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History Monroe County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Centennial Baptist Church historic architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Historic Landmark Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Destination Downtown Conference Historic County Courthouses Clarendon Arkansas Civil Works Administration Rustic Architecture Main Street Ozark Rosenwald Schools Huntsville Commercial Historic District Benton Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Camden Public Library National Register of Historic Places Flood Control Pike County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Freedom Park Main Street Batesville African American education Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council cemetery preservsation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Arkansas slipcover removal grants Poinsett County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Craftsman style architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Real Estate Transfer Tax Saline County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Turner Restoration Gothic Revival architecture Polk County Arkansas Sunken Lands Roe Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Burdette Plantation most endangered historic places cemetery preservation Main Street Dumas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Business History Sandwiching in History Folk Victorian Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Doddridge Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mississippi County Arkansas Buffalo National River Little Rock Central High School National Register of Historic News Release Arkansas History Lesson Plans Abolition of Slavery historic resort communities Bogg Springs Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Henry Koen Office Building International-Style Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop 13th Amendment Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Kiblah School Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Let Freedom Ring Duck Hunting St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Searcy Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Hotel Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas religious history Morrilton Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Ozark Farming Camden Arkansas Barney Elias House historic telephone booth Walks Through History Skillern House free teacher resources Forrest City Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dionicio Rodriguez free historic preservation workshop Huntsville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Russellville Arkansas Wingmead Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Ouachita County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi Main Street Association Delta Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants Conway County Library Arkansas Railroad History Erbie Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Perry County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Three States Lumber Company Pike County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas History downtown economic development Pope County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Free Lesson Plan Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Tolbert Gill Helena Arkansas Miller County New Century Club of Camden free history tours Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Forrest City Cemetery Marked Tree Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Little Rock Fire Station No. 2