Arkansas National Register Listings: unique, new listings range from a missile launch site to a historic golf course

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, November 23, 2020


The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced the listing of 15 properties in eight counties to the National Register of Historic Places.


“I was captivated reading this latest round of National Register nominations,” said Stacy Hurst, Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism as well as the state historic preservation officer. “From a Cold War Intercontinental Ballistic Missile launch site to historic bridges and even a golf course, this group of new listings really showcases the historic diversity in our state which we are proud to help document and preserve.”


The properties nominated and accepted for listing to the National Register by county are:


  • Galatia Church, Norfolk vicinity


  • Shaw-Blair House, Lowell


  • Bridge Street Bridge, Jonesboro (Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS)
  • Fuller-Shannon House, Jonesboro
  • Citizens Bank Building, Jonesboro


  • Titan II ICBM Launch Complex Site 373-9, Vilonia (Cold War Resources Associated with the 308th Strategic Missile Wing in Arkansas MPS)


  • Prescott & Northwestern Railroad Caboose No. 3, Prescott


  • Presbyterian Village, Little Rock
  • Little Rock Fire Station No. 9, Little Rock
  • Fair Park Golf Course, Little Rock


  • Snowball Gymnasium, Snowball


  • Vernon & Moore-McIlroy Produce Warehouse, Fayetteville
  • Hindman Hall Museum, Prairie Grove
  • Woolsey Farmstead Cemetery, Fayetteville
  • Elm Springs Cemetery, Elm Springs

“It is truly a privilege for our team to assist people through the process of listing a property,” said Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Scott Kaufman. “Being included on the National Register of Historic Places is an honor and provides locations with eligibility to apply for certain grants and tax credit programs.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places, including the qualifications, visit

The State Review Board is made up of Acting Chair Bob Kempkes along with Dr. Rodney Harris, Carl Miller Jr., Kelsey Bardwell, Rachel Golden, Andrew Beaupre, Joe Cole and Anne Speed. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst serves as the state’s historic preservation officer. The next meeting is scheduled for 9 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 2, at Arkansas Heritage at 1100 North St. in Little Rock.. A virtual option will be available closer to the event date.

For more information about the National Register, please contact Ralph Wilcox, National Register and survey coordinator, at 501-324-9880.

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is an agency of Arkansas Heritage. AHPP is responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. 


Recent Posts


Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Huntsville Arkansas downtown economic development Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Searcy Delta Cultural Center Bogg Springs Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission International-Style Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas History Main Street Batesville Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic telephone booth U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Barney Elias House County courthouse Restoration Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Texarkana free historic preservation workshop historic architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Henry Koen Office Building Sandwiching in History Bogg Springs Hotel Fayetteville Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Phillips County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas religious history Conway County Library News Release Real Estate Transfer Tax Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas Main Street Ozark Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Pulaski County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas Flood Control Art Deco Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Miller County Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Erbie Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Buffalo National River Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Humanities Council 13th Amendment Camden Arkansas Burdette Plantation Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Freedom Park Mid-Century Modern Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Trail of Tears in Arkansas Free Lesson Plan 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Sunken Lands Arkansas Register of Historic Places New Century Club of Camden Rustic Architecture National Historic Landmark National Register of Historic Forrest City Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Clarendon Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Evelyn Gill Walker House Rosenwald Schools Downtown Revitalization Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins slipcover removal grants Roe Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Abolition of Slavery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Mississippi Main Street Association Civil Works Administration Doddridge Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Monroe County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Courthouse cemetery preservation historic resort communities Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Historic Preservation Program most endangered historic places American Legion Craftsman style architecture Paris Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Louisiana Main Street program Poinsett County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Tolbert Gill Edgar Monsanto Queeny Newton County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Benton Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council downtown revitalization free teacher resources Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Rosston Arkansas Turner Restoration Duck Hunting White County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Saline County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building historic Arkansas properties Pike County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Historic County Courthouses free history tours Houston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Walks Through History Let Freedom Ring Skillern House Ozark Farming Folk Victorian Architecture National Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Arkansas African American Civil War History African American education North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Marked Tree Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Preservation Awards