Application deadlines set for Historic Preservation GrantsThe Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular County Courthouse Restoration Grants and Hi

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 02, 2020

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular County Courthouse Restoration Grants and Historic Preservation Restoration Grants.

Letters of intent are due on Friday, Nov. 13, 2020. A free application workshop will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3, at 9 a.m. via Zoom. RSVPs for the workshop are required by calling or emailing Joia Burton at 501.324.9883 or

“If you plan to submit a grant and have not gone through the process before, I highly recommend attending the workshop put on by the grants team,” says Scott Kaufman, division director for the AHPP. “Every spring we look forward to combing through the stack of applicants and working with new grantees to see their worthy projects come to fruition.”

Additional deadlines include the Courthouse Grant application to AHPP on Friday, Jan. 29, 2021, and the Historic Preservation Restoration Grant application due on Friday, March 5, 2021. Applicants must create a free login/password through the online portal at Winners are usually announced in June during a public ceremony.

“Making these grants available that restore the historic fabric in Arkansas communities is one of my favorite duties as Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism,” says Stacy Hurst, who also serves as the state historic preservation officer. “As I travel through the state, I get to see first-hand the impact this funding has on communities. During the last grant period we gave out more than $1.6 million in Courthouse Grants and over $800,000 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants thanks to funding from the Real Estate Transfer Tax.”

As part of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Main Street Arkansas is a program which falls under AHPP. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Folk Victorian Architecture Three States Lumber Company Pope County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Design Network Henry Koen Office Building Prairie County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Buffalo National River New Century Club of Camden Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Forrest City Cemetery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Conway County Library National Historic Landmark Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pike County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Tolbert Gill Craftsman style architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Camden to Washington Road Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Let Freedom Ring Sandwiching in History News Release Flood Control Camden Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Burdette Plantation Arkansas Historic Preservation Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Benton Arkansas Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Ozark Farming Barney Elias House Main Street Ozark Naturalistic Architecture Paris Arkansas steel window restoration workshop African American education National Register of Historic Places Leake-Ingham Building Delta Cultural Center Edgar Monsanto Queeny Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Business History Mississippi County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Monsanto Chemical Corporation Kiblah School Main Street Texarkana Booneville Historical Preservation Society Cemetery Preservation Library Tudor Revival Architecture historic architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Camden Public Library Dionicio Rodriguez Little Rock Central High School 19th Century Road Construction cemetery preservation downtown economic development Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Railroad History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Humanities Council Saline County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Monroe County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses historic resort communities Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Miller County Burdette Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic telephone booth Freedom Park 13th Amendment Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Dr. Ruth Hawkins Centennial Baptist Church Freedmen's Bureau free historic preservation workshop International-Style Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Elias Camp Morris Civilian Conservation Corps Rosenwald Schools Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservsation Madison County Arkansas Wingmead Central High School Neighborhood Historic District slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Batesville Ouachita County Arkansas Skillern House North Little Rock Arkansas Free Lesson Plan County courthouse Restoration Grants Monroe County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Renaissance Revival Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas History Roe Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Phillips County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Free Courthouse Poster Duck Hunting Walks Through History Sunken Lands Gothic Revival architecture U.S. Forest Service Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Helena Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic Arkansas properties American Legion Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas African American Civil War History downtown revitalization Newton County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Rustic Architecture Main Street Dumas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Siloam Springs Pope County Courthouse free history tours Downtown Revitalization Grants Abolition of Slavery National Register of Historic free teacher resources Arkansas Register of Historic Places White County Courthouse Main Street Searcy Rosston Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas most endangered historic places